Monday, June 17, 2019

Posts Tagged ‘Uhuru Kenyatta’

Uhuru Kenyatta Declared Winner of 26 October 2017 Kenya Presidential Election Re-run

Uhuru Kenyatta was declared winner of the 26 October 2017 Kenya Presidential Elections. The Kenya Electoral and Boundaries Commission has declared Kenya’s current President Uhuru Kenyatta, the winner. Uhuru Kenyatta received 7,483,895 (98.3%) out of a total 7,616,217 votes cast. Total registered voters – 19,611,423

The voter turnout was 38.84%.

Useful source:

President Uhuru Kenyatta Address to the Nation State House Nairobi 25 October 2017

President Uhuru Kenyatta Address to the Nation of Kenya, State House, Nairobi 25 October 2017

Source: Courtesy Twitter: and State House, Government of Kenya.

Raila Odinga Withdraws from Kenya Presidential Elections 10 October 2017

Raila Odinga the National Super Alliance (NASA) Presidential candidate has withdrawn from the Kenya Presidential Elections due to be held on 26 October 2017. This move caught the country by surprise, but it was a move by NASA to pre-empt changes brought in by the Jubilee Coalition, who have what political observes call a “conspiracy of numbers” in the Kenya Parliament. Raila Odinga’s withdrawal means fresh elections may need to be held. It stops the current President Uhuru Kenyatta from being sworn in without fresh elections. NASA in the meantime aim to continue street protests. Whilst presidential elections in many countries in the world are finished and done within a day, the Kenya Presidential Elections saga continues.

Useful reading:
Bernard Namunane (2017) ‘NASA finds refuge under 2013 court verdict.’ Daily Nation, 10 October 2017 URL: (Accessed 10 October 2017)
Patrick Lang’at (2017) ‘ NASA leader Raila blames IEBC for poll withdrawal,’ Daily Nation, 10 October 2017 URL (Accessed 10 October 2017)
The Standard Team ‘ Country facing crisis as NASA leader Raila Odinga quits presidential poll,’ The Standard (Retrieved 10 October 2017)

Uhuru Kenyatta Declared President of Kenya

Kenya Presidential Elections Results 23.45pm  East African Time 11 August 2017 IEBC

1 Uhuru Kenyatta Jubilee Party 8,197,238 (54.19%)
2 Raila Odinga ODM 6,794,416 (44.92%)
3 Joseph William Nthiga Nyagah Independent 37,892 (0.25%)
4 Mohamed Abduba Dida Ark 37, 337 (0.25%)
5 John Ekuru Longoggy Aukot TAK 27, 344 (0.18%)
6 Japhet Kavinga Kaluyu Ind 11, 637 (0.08%)
7 Shakhalaga Khwa Jirongo UDP 11, 269 (0.07%)
8 Michael Wainaina Mwaura Ind 8, 849 (0.06%)

Reporting polling station 40714 out 40,883
Turn Out: 79.17%
Registered Votes: 19,611,423
Valid Votes: 15,125,982
Disputed Votes: 5,189
Rejected Votes: 401, 254
Source: 23.45pm 8 August 2017. Study Group – 169 Pollings stations yet to declare. 2.65% of the votes were spoilt. Study Group Note: The Chairman of the IEBC released the final tally before declaring Uhuru Kenyatta President. But these figures remained the same on the IEBC website as at 23.45 East African Time.

Old News