Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Archive for May, 2014

Kenya Airforce Harbin Yunshuji Y-12 Military Plane Crash in El Wak Mandera County 12 May 2014

A Kenya Airforce Harbin Yunshuji Y-12-II (military transport plane of Chinese make) crashed landed on 12 May 2014 near El Wak military camp killing the pilot and injuring 11 (two police officers in serious condition).

On 10 April 2006 a similar aircraft a Harbin Yunshuji Y-12 crashed in Marsabit County killing 14 passengers including six Kenyan Members of Parliament, including Bonaya Adhi Godana MP for North Horr Constituency.

Eleven Harbin Yunshuji Y-12 military transport planes have been supplied to the Kenya Airforce.

Useful Sources:

1  Kenya Defence Forces ‏@kdfinfo 8h (accessed 12 May 2014)

“A Kenya Air Force transport aircraft has crash landed in Elwak today. First responders on ground working medical evacuation.”

2 Citizen News – Military Plane Crash in El Wak 12 May 2014


3 @MRashDido photo of plane crash

Mrash Dido‏@MrashDido 4h (accessed 12 May 2014)

@KTNKenya Military plane crash in Elwak, pilot died on the spot and 7 others injured pic.twitter.com/n5Jzf8P7oh

4 Note of interest – El Wak – African Aviation name similarity.  In 2 June 2012 a cargo plane crashed in Accra, Ghana West Africa near the El Wak Military Stadium. .

South Africa – National and Provincial Elections Results May 2014

The African National Congress won the majority of seats in  South Africa’s National and Provincial Elections May 2014.

Based on Provisional results released by the Electoral Commission of South African on 12 May 2014 they achieved 62.15% of the votes with the Democratic Alliance (DA) 22.3% and the Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) 6.35%. Turnout was 73.43%.

Source: Electoral Commission of South Africa Provisional Results


South Africa National and Provincial Elections 7 May 2014

It will be a proud day as South Africans vote in National and Provincial Elections.

South Africa holds elections every 5 years. Voters vote for a political party, not individuals. The political party then gets a share of 400 seats in the South African Parliament in direct proportion to the number of votes it got in the election – That is they have a proportion representation system. (Source: South Africa Electoral Commission)

The South Africa Electoral Commission is the body created by the Constitution of South Africa to organise manage free and fair elections at all levels of government. Although publicly funded and accountable to parliament, we are independent of the government.”  (Source: South Africa Electoral Commission).

Recommended -For Results and News of the South African Elections 2014 visit http://www.elections.org.za/content/


South Africa has a bicameral Parliament (two Houses) supported by a joint administration. The National Assembly is the House directly elected by the voters, while the National Council of Provinces is elected by the provinces and represents them to ensure that provincial interests are taken into account in the national sphere of government.

http://www.parliament.gov.za/live/content.php?Category_ID=25 (Source: Parliament of The Republic of South Africa)

 National Assembly

The South African National Assembly has 400 members. The number of seats that a party has in the Assembly is in proportion to the number of voters that voted for it in the elections.

The National Council of Provinces (NCOP)

The South African National Council of Provinces (NCOP), one of the two Houses of Parliament, came into effect in 1997. The NCOP is constitutionally mandated to ensure that provincial interests are taken into account in the national sphere of government.  This is done through participation in the national legislative process and by providing a national forum for consideration of issues affecting provinces.

The NCOP also plays a unique role in the promotion of the principles of Cooperative Government and Intergovernmental Relations.  It ensures that the three spheres of government work together in performing their unique functions in terms of the Constitution and that in doing so, they do not encroach in each other’s area of competence.

This ensures that synergy exists between the spheres on matters of concurrent competence.

(Source: Parliament of South Africa – http://www.parliament.gov.za/live/content.php?Item_ID=34)

Composition of the NCOP

The NCOP consists of 90 provincial delegates, i.e. 10 delegates for each of the nine provinces.  This means that each province is equally represented in the NCOP.

A provincial delegation consists of six permanent delegates and four special delegates.

There were approximately 200 political parties registered in South Africa in May 2014, 152were national parties and 48 provincial (regional parties).

Number of Registered Political Parties in South Africa May 2014

(Source: South Africa Electoral Commission)

Registered Parties


Number of Parties



Eastern   Cape


Free   State








Northern   Cape




North   West


Western   Cape


TOTAL: 200

(Source: South Africa Electoral Commission-  http://www.elections.org.za/content/Parties/Political-party-list/)



Old News