Saturday, April 20, 2019

Commonwealth and Electoral Commission Of Kenya 7 – 8 February 2008

Two articles in the Standard in Nairobi – concerning the Commonwealth building democracy and the final list for Kenyan nominated MPs for the 10th Kenya Parliament is recieved by the Electoral Commission of Kenya (ECK).

Commonwealth To Help Restore Democracy – Peter Opiyo The Standard 7 February 2008 quotes Commonwealth Secretary General Don Mackinnon when he met with Kenya Vice – President Kalonzo Musyoka, and an article by Caroline Mango and Titus Too’s – ECK Now Gets Final List Of Nominees 8 January 2008, which lists the nominees for the 10th Parliament Of Kenya. The list reflects proportional representation as agreed during the 1997 Inter-Parties Parliamentary Group agreement. “ODM, with 97 elected MPs, secured six slots, PNU with 43 seats got three while ODM-Kenya and Kanu with 16 and 14 seats nominated two and one.” The Standard End

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Old News